With Good Intention

Ah, I had such good intentions of posting more often! Unfortunately, or maybe not so much since it was a paying writing job that kept me from posting on wordpress, time did not permit. First, I open with my usual business observation of the day.

The economy in Florida continues to strengthen as we approach the height of snowbird season. The pessimists among us mutter about the old days, when business activity slowed to a snail’s pace during summer. The optimists are already partying. It’s just too early to tell. Will the unrest in the Mid East affect us? Perhaps, but since most of our oil comes from South America, I don’t see it as being too disruptive.

The uncertainty puts everyone on edge, and we freeze like Meerkats, waiting for news, or panic in large numbers, as if we are lemmings running for the cliff. Perhaps what we should do is learn from this recession and remember that good times do not last forever but neither do bad times. The trick is in being prepared for both.

I continue on with writing copy for an SEO (Search Engine Optimizers) company. The pay isn’t great, but it gives me a start in a writing career. Since I have been occupied with running our construction business (well, the office end of things) and the above mentioned writing, I’ve not followed up on the progress of publication for the DeSoto County Historical Society’s latest book, which contains a couple of my short stories. Since there is a Ford Family reunion next weekend, I’d be thrilled to have it to pass around.

I don’t often offer advice or correct spelling/grammar because, for me, it is the cadence of the words that is of most importance, all else is secondary. Reread that sentence and you will see what I mean. The words rise and fall, a breathing torso. Who am I to correct the minor when the main objective has been achieved? That said, there are times when a spelling error can unintentionally disrupt the flow. Don’t get me wrong. I love and participate in deliberate misspells, but there are two mistakes that never fail to jar.

The first, the misuse of “bear” and “bare”, can be amusing. If for instance, a misguided writer pens the words “please bare with me”, he or she has asked the reader to join in on nudity, rather than extend patience. The word for patience, bear, is derived from the word “forbearance”. And yes, it is also contains the spelling for an animal. Welcome to the English language where every rule has an exception.

Another is the issue of “wreak” and “wreck”. “Wreak” means to cause or inflict…pronounced “reek”, it rhymes with “meek”. “Wreck” means to destroy…pronounced “reck”, it rhymes with “neck”. If you wreck your car by running it into the storefront, you wreak havoc inside the store. The exception to the rule in this case? “Reek” means smelly:

The dump truck reeking with dead fish got into a wreck right next to the Society Ladies Luncheon in the park, wreaking havoc on their festivities.

Thank you for allowing me share those examples. Your forbearance is appreciated. Now if you misuse those words, I’ll know it was deliberate, since you now know the difference.

And, at long last, today’s writing sample:

The garden path grows long now, astonishing even me, awarded far more years than expected. But I am still laying the stepping stones, one by one, asking, “This, Lord? Or here?” and holding faith that He makes all things work together for my good.

I am so grateful for all I’ve been given, understanding that the hurts were the necessary lessons to reach the me that I am now.

They are soon forgotten as I gaze upon the carpet of flowers before me, names that nod their heads in the breeze I make as I pass by: husband first, of course, and the trio of handsome manchilds, their sister of the heart, and the sweethearts, the friends, the children’s friends, the teachers and Rabbis of the world, oh look, there are the children I tutored, their misspelled letters of gratitude I cannot bear to discard, decades old.

I see the family, the ones I could not reach, and the ones who fed my soul. Yes, their names float around me as I walk, one day they will carry me to glory. For now, though, I lay the stepping stones, dropping the seeds nearby, so that others will one day discover the path and continue where I leave off.

About conniekauffman

Woman. Middle-aged. Opinionated. Fiesty (she's told). Smart. Loving. Creative. Blunt. Kind. Contradictory. Go Figure. And funny. I always forget funny. Kinda funny, when you think about it. As a business owner, I am interested in how other businesses run and often comment on various websites. As an almost-empty-nester, I comment on weekend getaways in Florida. We enjoying "discovering" out of the way places and quirky venues. As an aspiring writer, I will also chronicle my attempts at obtaining an agent. At the time of this writing, March of 2011, I am uninterested in self-publishing for a variety of reasons.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to With Good Intention

  1. bsgeezer says:

    Lovely selection. We won’t have to worry much longer about “wreak” vs. “wreck.” The idiom “wreak havoc” or “wreak destruction” is dead and gone for anyone under 50/ “Wreak” is an antiquated word not active in human discourse.

    • Actually, I see it used often by the younger set. My other nails-on-the-chalkboard gripe is the use of “wha-la”.

      • Moira says:

        I’ve noticed so many younger people the use the word ‘then’ instead of ‘than’. Don’t know if it’s the same in the US but in Australia I see it often.

      • Hi, Moira! Thanks for dropping in. Yes, I see that misuse, as well, but I’ve seen the older set make that mistake just as often as younger people. 🙂

Leave a Reply

